There are no smart Black Women on Twitter.

What? You think that’s a ridiculous statement? Well not if you’re Fast Company who just released their list of “25 of the Smartest Women on Twitter” and apparently couldn’t find one smart Black woman who made the cut. Well, BlogHer editor and TWiB host Feminista Jones was not amused and started the hashtag #SmartBlackWomenOfTwitter. Within hours the hash was trending nationally with everyone weighing in with their lists of smart Black women they follow on Twitter.

“When I read the list of the Smartest Women on Twitter, I recognized a few names and there were women I personally admire. What I noticed immediately was that there were no Black women on the list. I was shocked because I follow so many bright, intelligent Black women, that I couldn’t understand the oversight. It seemed to me that this was yet another case of the invisible Black woman and I wanted to do something to shine a spotlight on the Smart Black women I know and follow on Twitter” – Feminista Jones

It would be impossible for us to list every smart Black woman on Twitter, but we wanted to share some highlights from the hashtag.

Dr. Shante Smalls @shanteparadigm

Shante Smalls @shanteparadigm

T.F. Charlton @graceishuman

T.F. Charlton @graceishuman

Shana Redmond @shanaredmond

Shana Redmond @shanaredmond

Salamishah Tillet @salamishah

Salamishah Tillet @salamishah

Melissa Harris-Perry @mharrisperry

Melissa Harris-Perry @mharrisperry

Dr. Imani Perry @imaniperry

Imani Perry @imaniperry

Charlene Carruthers @charlenecac

Charlene Carruthers @charlenecac

Dream Hampton @dreamhampton

Dream Hampton @dreamhampton

Dr. Blair Kelley @profblmkelley

Blair Kelley @profblmkelley

Michelle Norris @michelle_norris

Michelle Norris @michele_norris

Adria Richards @adriarichards

Adria Richards @adriarichards

Tamika Mallory @tamikamallory

Tamika Mallory @tamikadmallory

Bell Hooks @BellHooks

bell hooks @bellhooks

Joan Morgan @MILFINainteasy

Joan Morgan @MILFINainteasy

Tracey Clayton @BrokeyMcPoverty

Tracey Clayton @BrokeyMcPoverty

Latoya Peterson @latoyapeterson

Latoya Peterson @latoyapeterson

Janet Mock @janetmock

Janet Mock @janetmock

 

 

Jamilah Lemieux @jamilahlemieux

Jamilah Lemieux @jamilahlemieux

Wagatwe Sara Wanjuki @Wagatwe

Wagatwe Sara Wanjuki @Wagatwe

Michelle Obama @FLOTUS

Michelle Obama @FLOTUS

Donna Brazille @donnabrazille

Donna Brazile @donnabrazile

Yaba Blay @fiyawata

Yaba Blay @fiyawata

Gwen Ifill @gwenifill

Gwen Ifill @gwenifill

Dr. Anthea Butler @ProfB

Anthea Butler @AntheaButler

 

This is just a tip of the iceberg. Check out the hashtag for more. Who are some of your favorite #SmartBlackWomenOfTwitter? Let us know in the comments section.

Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.
%d bloggers like this: